Recruiting exceptional leaders for mission-driven organizations.

Dr. Sherine Gabriel Dr. Sherine Gabriel

President, Rush University

Rush University has selected Sherine E. Gabriel, MD, MSc to serve as President. She will assume her post in February of 2019.

Dr. Gabriel previously served as Dean of Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in New Brunswick, New Jersey, and has also served as Dean of Mayo Medical School. She has had a career-long commitment to education and career development for which she has received several honors including the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator Award, the Association for Clinical Research Training Distinguished Educator Award, and the McCann Scholar Award for Excellence in Mentoring in Medicine and Science. Dr. Gabriel is a past president of the American College of Rheumatology.

Dr. Gabriel has received numerous research awards in recognition of her scholarly contributions including the Hench Award in Rheumatology, the Mayo Foundation Scholarship, two Clinician Involved in Research Awards and the American College of Rheumatology Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award. Dr. Gabriel has authored more than 250 peer-reviewed, original scientific publications addressing the risks, costs, outcomes and comorbidities in the rheumatic diseases. Dr. Gabriel earned a Doctor of Medicine degree, with distinction, from the University of Saskatchewan, Canada and completed an Internal Medicine Residency and Rheumatology fellowship at Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. She also earned a Master of Science in Clinical Epidemiology from McMaster University. Dr. Gabriel is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in Internal Medicine and in Rheumatology.

John Muckle and Denise Gaffney led this search with Randi Alberry.

View the official press release here.