Recruiting exceptional leaders for mission-driven organizations.

Chair of Physiology Milwaukee, WI

The Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) has selected Dr. Curt D. Sigmund to serve as the next Chair of the Department of Physiology, effective January 2019.

Dr. Sigmund currently serves as Chair and Department Executive Officer, Department of Pharmacology; Professor and Roy J. Carver Chair in Hypertension Research; and Director, UIHC Center for Hypertension Research at the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa in Iowa City. He also holds appointments at the Carver College of Medicine as Professor of Internal Medicine and Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics. A member of the Iowa faculty since 1991, Dr. Sigmund has been significantly involved in undergraduate, medical student, graduate and postdoctoral education, in the areas of molecular genetics, molecular biology, human physiology, physiology for physicians assistants, pharmacogenetics, pharmacology for pharmacy students and pharmacology of nurse anesthetists, cardiovascular research, and more. He also continues to serve as a mentor to junior faculty members at the University of Iowa and at the UIHC Center for Hypertension Research.

Dr. Sigmund has published more than 200 peer-reviewed research articles, and more than 75 books, reviews and invited commentary.  He has presented at more than 170 local, regional, national and international lectures and workshops. He has been recognized with research awards from the American Federation for Medical Research and American Society of Hypertension.  From the American Physiological Society, he received the Henry Pickering Bowditch Award Lecture in 2000, the Ernest H. Starling Distinguished Lecturer in 2011, the Distinguished Lecturer in Physiological Genomics in 2016, and, in 2018, the Carl J. Wiggers Award from the Cardiovascular Section.  Dr. Sigmund was the recipient of the Inaugural Vancouver 2010 Lectureship from Hypertension Canada in 2015, and from the Council on Hypertension of the American Heart Association, he received the Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Lecture Award in 2007 and the Excellence Award in Hypertension Research (commonly known as the Novartis Award) in 2009.

Dr. Sigmund earned his Bachelor of Arts and Master’s degrees in biology in 1982 and 1984, respectively, from the State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo.  He received a PhD in cell and molecular biology from SUNY-Buffalo in 1987.  From 1987-1991, he was a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo,  NY, and performed molecular and physiological studies examining some of the first transgenic mice with genetic alterations in the renin-angiotensin system.

Denise O’Grady Gaffney led this search with Jamie Sands and Elizabeth Dorr.

To apply or nominate a candidate, please return to our site on a laptop/desktop for full functionality.
If you are viewing this on a laptop/desktop, enlarge the window to enable these buttons.
If you are viewing this on a laptop/desktop, enlarge the window to enable these buttons.