Recruiting exceptional leaders for mission-driven organizations.

Department Chair of Neurology Columbus, OH

We are pleased to announce the selection of Benjamin Segal, MD, as the next Chair of the Department of Neurology at The Ohio State University College of Medicine and Co-Director of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center’s Neurological Institute, effective July 1, 2019.

Dr. Segal comes to Ohio State from the University of Michigan, where he is the Holtom-Garrett Family Professor of Neurology and Director of the Multiple Sclerosis Center and Program in Neuroimmunology.

Dr. Segal began his academic career at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), where he conducted innovative research in multiple sclerosis (MS) and immunology. He was then recruited to University of Rochester to serve as Division Director of MS. During his tenure at Rochester, he won the prestigious Harry Weaver Neuroscience Scholar Award from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. In 2007, the University of Michigan recruited Dr. Segal to lead its division of MS. Under Dr. Segal’s leadership, the University of Michigan has become a national referral center for this disease; the MS clinic population has expanded in size from approximately 400 to 4,000 patients during his tenure.

Nationally recognized for his work in MS and neuroimmunology, Dr. Segal directs a number of industry- and investigator-sponsored clinical trials that focus on individuals with relapsing and progressive forms of MS. With annual NIH funding for his ongoing research programs in excess of $1.3 million, Dr. Segal’s discoveries have contributed to the basic understanding of MS and similar diseases. He publishes in top-tier academic journals, including The Journal of Clinical Investigation, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, and The Lancet Neurology.

Dr. Segal has received innumerable awards, lectured nationally and internationally, and served on multiple NIH study sections, including chairing the major review panel in his field. He holds several patents, has been recognized as a Taubman Scholar of the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute, is a member of every major organization in neurology and, for the past eight years, has been named among the Best Doctors in America.

Dr. Segal earned his medical degree from Brown University, completed his internship in medicine at the University of Chicago, and was recruited to a residency in neurology at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

To apply or nominate a candidate, please return to our site on a laptop/desktop for full functionality.
If you are viewing this on a laptop/desktop, enlarge the window to enable these buttons.
If you are viewing this on a laptop/desktop, enlarge the window to enable these buttons.