Recruiting exceptional leaders for mission-driven organizations.

President Geneva, NY

Hobart and William Smith Colleges have selected Joyce P. Jacobsen to serve as their next President, effective July 2019. She will be the first woman to lead the Colleges.  

Dr. Jacobsen comes to the Colleges from Wesleyan University where she has been Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs since 2015.

Dr. Jacobsen earned her Ph.D. from Stanford University and M.Sc. from the London School of Economics, and graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with her A.B. in economics as a member of Phi Beta Kappa. She began her academic career in 1988 as an assistant professor at Rhodes College before going to Wesleyan University in 1993. She earned full professor at Wesleyan in 2000, and was awarded an endowed chair as Andrews Professor of Economics in 2003. She was the recipient of the University’s prestigious Binswanger Prize for Excellence in Teaching in 2007. She began her work as an administrator in 2013 when she was appointed Dean of Social Sciences and Director of Global Initiatives at Wesleyan, and then Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs in 2015.

An expert on labor economics, particularly the economics of gender, Dr. Jacobsen is the author of scores of journal articles, book chapters and book reviews exploring sex segregation, migration and the effects of labor force intermittency on women’s earnings, as well as the economics of wine and other collectibles. Her books include The Economics of Gender, Queer Economics: A Reader (co-edited with her former student, Adam Zeller, who started the project as a senior essay), and the textbook Labor Markets and Employment Relationships (with Gilbert L. Skillman).

Dr. Jacobsen has been a visiting professor at Colorado College and the University of Groningen in the Netherlands, where she held the Jantina Tammes Chair in Gender Studies. She has consulted for the World Bank, the ACLU, and other nonprofit organizations. She served as editor of the Eastern Economic Journal (2005-10) and on the editorial boards of a number of professional journals. Jacobsen was President of the International Association for Feminist Economics from 2016-17, served as a member of the American Economic Association Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession, and is currently an elected board member of the Eastern Economic Association. During the past 20 years, she has been a member of several projects and working groups for the Institute for Women’s Policy Research.

Kate Barry and John Isaacson lead the search with Karen McPhedran and Micah Pierce. 

To apply or nominate a candidate, please return to our site on a laptop/desktop for full functionality.
If you are viewing this on a laptop/desktop, enlarge the window to enable these buttons.
If you are viewing this on a laptop/desktop, enlarge the window to enable these buttons.