Skip to main content
L. Edje
Louito Edje, MD, MHPE, FAAFP | Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education

University of Michigan Medical School, Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education

The University of Michigan Board of Regents approved the appointment of Louito Edje, M.D., MHPE, FAAFP as Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education in the medical school. 

Edje joins the University of Michigan Medical School (UMMS) from the University of Cincinnati Medical Center and College of Medicine, where she serves as a professor of medical education and family and community medicine as well as associate dean for graduate medical education. In these roles, she serves more than 700 residents and fellows in 102 programs, chairs the graduate medical education committees at two sponsoring institutions, and provides input across the continuum of medical education through the Education Program Committee, Dean’s Medical Education Committee, and Medical Executive Committee. Her research and scholarly work focus on mitigating bias in assessment, master adaptive learners, and competency-based medical education.

In addition to her roles at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center and College of Medicine, nationally, Edje is chair of the family medicine review committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and chair of the nominating committee of the American Medical Association Council on Medical Education. Edje has been the recipient of numerous honors, including the American Academy of Family Physicians Family Physician of the Year Award, and the Michigan Medicine Alumni Society Distinguished Humanitarian Award.

Edje completed her Bachelor of Science in Physiology at Michigan State University, her medical degree at UMMS, her family medicine residency at Toledo Hospital, and her master’s degree in health professions education at the University of Michigan. Edje is also a graduate of the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program.

Jamie Sands led this search with Jane McInerney and Lily Sethares.